D.N.J. LBR 1002-1. Commencement of Case

A petition commencing a case must be filed in the vicinage in which the debtor is domiciled or in which the debtor maintains its residence, principal place of business, or principal assets.

2015 Comment

This Rule is amended to eliminate petition content requirements that already appear in Bankruptcy Rule 1003 or Official Form B1.

The court is divided into three units known as "vicinages," based on the locations of the three federal courthouses in the District of New Jersey.

The Newark vicinage consists of Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Morris, Passaic, Sussex, and Union counties.

The Trenton vicinage consists of part of Burlington (except for the townships of Cinnaminson, Delran, Edgewater Park, Evesham (Marlton), Maple Shade, Moorestown, Mount Laurel, Palmyra, Riverside and Riverton), Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Somerset, and Warren counties.

The Camden vicinage consists of Atlantic, part of Burlington (the townships of Cinnaminson, Delran, Edgewater Park, Evesham (Marlton), Maple Shade, Moorestown, Mount Laurel, Palmyra, Riverside and Riverton), Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, and Salem counties.